Photo credit by Pocketdol Studio


The new boy group BAE173 under Pocketdol Studio finally debuted today with their mini-album ‘INTERSECTION: SPARK’. There are nine members: Junseo, J-Min, Hangyul, Yoojun, Muzin, Youngseo, Doha, Bit, and Dohyon.

Hangyul and Dohyon you might know from their sub-unit H&D. We recently wrote about them here


We start off with ‘prelude: with me’. This intro is honestly quite lovely. There are amazing vocals and very echoey synths that create a bigger than life feel. The rap verse is hella DOPE.

After that we get the title track ‘Crush on U’ that came accompanied by a brand new music video. This is cuteness overload. I like the brassy synths and happy feel of the entire track. 

‘FLY’ follows that with a more EDM driven backing track. This song is so energetic! The rap verse makes it a bit darker and more intense, but that is immediately pulled back with the vocal section after it. It’s a very interesting back and forth that makes it really dynamic and fun to listen to.

The last single on the EP is ‘I’ll Never Say’. This feels a bit more bluesy and softer than the previous songs. It really lets their diversity show and to be honest, this feels all very polished and well-thought out. 

It’s kind of incredible that the EP ‘INTERSECTION: SPARK’ is the debut of BAE173. This honestly went way above my expectations. Nice!

I couldn’t find the EP on Spotify yet, but I’m sure it’ll be there in a day or two at the most. In the meantime, you can listen to it here on Youtube Music.

Ilse Van Den Heede
A writer with a slight coffee addiction and a tendency to find K-Indie gems in the YouTube rabbit hole.